Home Decor

Inspired Interiors – Formal Dining Room

Inspired Interiors

This week’s post was inspired by a ridiculous attachment to my dining room furniture that is currently sitting in storage.  Every now and again I think about how stunning the dining table and chairs are, and I get a little teary eyed (not really) because I cannot utilize them.  At this moment in time, I don’t have a formal dining room, hence the inability to display my most cherished furniture.  That doesn’t stop me from daydreaming about how I will decorate my formal dining room when the time comes again.  I’m not complaining – I have a roof over my head, and for that I am grateful.  It’s a little annoying that I even have to include that caveat, if I am being completely honest.  I am not going to pretend that I am not materialistic just so others think that I am a better human than I actually am.  Most of you get that, because I am the MateREAL girl after all.  And you are here because you share similar interests, and I am truly grateful for those of you that GET me, and understand.  Thank you!

Something else I want to put out there, that kind of goes without saying is……I like what I like.  Meaning, there isn’t any ulterior motive to my choices.  I’m not trying to impress anyone, nor am I bragging.  I despise braggarts.  A formal dining room is one of those spaces that commands elegance and a little bit of extravagance too.  That all being said, lets get into some of my dream formal dining room items!

Furniture

First up we have the furniture that inspired this post.  My beloved dining room table and chairs.  Now, when we bought these pieces several years ago, I knew I wanted to select furniture that we would have our entire lives.  I wanted something timeless and elegant. And I searched for what felt like forever. However, when I walked into Ethan Allen and saw the Ashcroft table, I immediately knew it was meant to be.  My search was over, but the wait was not.  EA’s furniture is made-to-order and it took over three months for them to make and deliver.   It was well worth the wait, the quality and craftsmanship far surpasses any furniture I have ever owned.

For the chairs, I picked out the Chinese Chippendale styled Jaqueline side and armchairs. I loved the design and, of course, the wood matches the table perfectly.  With Ethan Allen you choose custom upholstery, and I chose a tonal ivory silk lotus flower design.  It is absolutely beautiful – but completely impractical – and I would select it again given a choice.

Ashcroft Dining Table 1

Ashcroft Table
The Ashcroft Round Dining Table from Ethan Allen.
Jaqueline Chairs 1
Jaqueline Arm and Side Chairs from Ethan Allen.

The only other thing I would add/change is a sideboard/buffet table if I have the space in the future.  Here are a couple that I would consider:

Kerra Sideboar Ballard 2
This is the Kerra Sideboard from Ballard Designs.  The Chinese Chippendale style plays well off of our dining chairs, and I like the contrasting finish in ivory.
Heston Buffet
I adore the midcentury-modern design of this Heston Buffet in mahogany from Ethan Allen.

Lighting

Now, I have had a mild obsession with the lighting from Restoration Hardware since high school.  That was back when we actually had a RH brick and mortar store at our mall.  As you can imagine, these are my DREAM chandeliers at the moment.  #GOALS

Boule De Cristal Chandelier - RH
BOULE DE CRISTAL ROUND CLUSTER CHANDELIER 19’’
Arielle Chandelier - RH
ARIELLE CHANDELIER 23″
Foucaults Orb Chandelier - RH
FOUCAULT’S ORB CLEAR CRYSTAL CHANDELIER 32”  I like that this combines opposite styles – rustic and glam.

Textiles

Distressed Ornament Wool Rug - West Elm
Distressed Ornament Wool Rug – West Elm 
Hexa Hide Rug - RH
Hera Hide Rug – Restoration Hardware 

Table Linens

I’m not one to display table cloths, they basically serve one purpose for me, and that is to semi-protect (invest in a custom table pad) the dining table.  So I have some pretty plain linens that can be dressed up or down, depending on the occasion.  I will share some of the things I own, but really these are quite basic.  I would add color with napkin rings, centerpieces, and chargers.

placemats
Linen Double Hemstitch Placemats from Williams Sonoma  –  I registered for these and received them as a wedding gift nearly 10 years ago.  They have held up well, and usually only need a quick steam to release wrinkles.
Hemstitched Dinner Napkins
Hotel Hemstitched Dinner Napkins – Williams Sonoma 

Tabletop

I’m not going to share my flatware, because to be honest it’s so old, I cannot find it online. There are, however, some serve ware that I would love to add to my collection, and some lavish flatware which are pieces of art in my opinion.  Also a fun throwback to my wedding registry with my formal dinnerware choice!

 

This Christofle 24-Piece Mood Flatware is worthy of royalty.  Seriously.  “Established in 1830, Christofle created silverware for French royalty, including King Louis-Phillipe and Emperor Napoleon III” – Neiman Marcus description.  

muse_bowl
Warning, I love Jonathan Adler, especially his pottery.  Muse Bowl 
eve_porcelain_fruit_bowl_b
Jonathan Adler Eve Fruit Bowl
sandp_terrier_1
Jonathan Adler Terrier Salt & Pepper Shakers
China
Does anyone register for fine china anymore?  This is the formal dinnerware that I registered for and received for our wedding. It’s the Vera Wang Wedgwood Imperial Scroll.

Decor

We all know this is my favorite category in every inspired interior post.  I think I really showed some restraint though.  The one thing I am lacking is artwork for my dream formal dining room.  I think these pieces are beautiful.  And some of the accessories I already own. They are simple, but elegant.

C&B Stepping Out to The Light - Art
Stepping Out To the Light II – artist Naoko Paluszak
Scottie Art
Glamour Dog Sketch V – Ethan Allen
eclectic-silver-plated-candlesticks-c
I own a few of these Pottery Barn Eclectic Silver-Plated Candlesticks, in varying sizes.  They are striking indeed, just be prepared to polish these as they are silver plated and definitely tarnish.

 

voluminous-clear-glass-vases-o
I cannot find the exact vase I have, but it’s very similar to the large glass vase pictured here.  And I would also display silk ivory hydrangeas as pictured.  I like the look of glass with substantial furniture pieces.

 

That ladies and gents, concludes my dream formal dining room.  Please do share some of your favorite luxe home items, and comment below what your favorite piece was in this post!

 

Leave a Reply

