Food

MG “Pink” Drink

MG“Pink”Drink

So I have an unhealthy obsession with the Starbuck’s Pink Drink.  You know the one?  It was formerly a “secret menu” item, but has recently become a more permanent option on the Starbuck’s menu.  It is basically the Strawberry Acai Refresher, just made with coconut milk.  IT IS DELICIOUS, and I highly suggest that you try it if you haven’t already.   Anyway, I love the drink, but I certainly don’t love the calories and sugar that it contains.    I also don’t want to give up this amazing treat.  That’s why I was inspired to create something at home with less calories, and basically half of the sugar.

Keep in mind, this is my version.  Therefore the ingredients will not be the same.  In fact, the only similarity is the dehydrated strawberries.  In my version I use Passion Fruit White Tea, Vanilla Coconut Creamer, and Dehydrated Strawberries.  In the Starbuck version, there isn’t actually any tea.  They use green coffee extract, and white grape juice in their Strawberry Acai Refreshers.  My point is, this is just a way that I found to satisfy my cravings for the original, one and only, PINK DRINK.

If you are interested in finding out how I make the MG Pink Drink, keep reading!

DSC04517

This really couldn’t be any more simple, because I ONLY use three ingredients.  I start out with steeping a cup of the Trader Joe’s Organic Pomegranate White Tea.

 

Then, I add some of the Trader Joe’s freeze dried strawberries to a tumbler.  *Note* I did use a regular clear glass today for pictures, so you can see what the drink looks like.  I pour the hot tea over the freeze dried strawberries.   That way the strawberry flavor can infuse the tea.

 

DSC04562

Next I add some ice.  I prefer crushed ice.  But, I have generic freezer ice.  Gross.  And then I finally add approximately 3 tbsp of the vanilla coconut creamer, which already contains natural sweetener (cane sugar).  This is how I was able to create this drink without a ton of added sweeteners and calories. If you don’t like coconut milk, or vanilla, try some of your favorite soy or almond milk as a substitute.

 

Using the So Delicious, French Vanilla Coconut Milk Creamer, this drink has about 75 Calories, 3 grams of Fat, and 12 grams of Sugar.  I don’t count the strawberries, because the whole bag is only 130 calories, and I only used a handful.

 

That’s it! Let me know if you decide to try this, and tell me what you think!  Also, if you have an “at home” version of the Pink Drink, please share!

Leave a Reply

