Cosmetics

Blackheads are the Devil.

BLACKHEADS 2

The title of this post says it all.  And I’m pretty sure most of the human population is plagued with these abominations at some point in their lifetime.  If you aren’t, well then we can’t be friends.  I mean we can, but I will secretly loathe you.  Anyway, I didn’t always have them, but for one reason or another I seem to be more prone to blackheads now.  They are freaking annoying, and they just stare back at me in the mirror like, “Hey, what’s up? I’m just going to chill here on your nose if that’s cool?”  You know what?!  It’s not cool, and just the mere sight of you makes me want to scratch my nose right off of my face!!

I know I am “tad” obsessed with skincare at the moment – but if you stared at yourself in the mirror as much as I seem to – you would be obsessed with perfecting your skin too.  That’s right kids, you can go right ahead and add vanity to my long list of inadequacies.  I ain’t sorry.  Calm down Judgmental Judy’s, I’m kidding.  Sort of.  But seriously if I am going to spend the time and money on cosmetics, I probably should be just as invested in what’s underneath.  Because at the end of the day – that is who is staring back at me – bare faced Timera.  I am becoming more and more comfortable with that sight as I age.  And that’s great and all, but I am not just going to sit back and let these pesky blackheads take up residency on my face either.

So off to Sephora (duh) I went in search of some sort of remedy.  And most of you I’m sure are familiar with these two products, because they certainly are NOT new.  They have been around for years (kind of like my blackheads), and that has to mean something!  Right? In fact, I used to use the Philosophy Microdelivery Exfoliating face wash several, and I mean several, years ago.  I’m not really sure why I stopped, but it has since been reformulated.  And I wanted a physical exfoliant, because that seems to aid in the blackhead removal for me. The second item gets rave reviews online, so I also picked up the Origins Clear Improvements active charcoal mask.

DSC03847


DSC03852The Origins Clear Improvements Active charcoal mask is pretty self explanatory.  The bamboo charcoal draws out impurities, and the white China clay absorbs toxins.  This mask can be pretty drying, so I just stick to my T-zone when applying.  And, as per the directions, be sure to open up your pores prior to application by using a warm/hot washcloth.  Then go ahead and slather this stuff on yo face.  I even put it on pesky blemishes even though it’s not marketed for this use.   It really dries them up pretty well. And then wait until it is dry for about 10 to 15 minutes, depending on how thick it was initially applied.  I spend this time playing with Snapchat seeing if the filters recognize my face as an actual face with the mask on.  Most of the time it doesn’t, and places the filters on weird parts of my face. It is fun, you should definitely try it sometime.  Ooooor you could just do something boring and productive.  Selfies are productive, right?


DSC03860So you really don’t want to know what I was using as a face scrub prior to this purchase. Hint: it contains walnut shell, smells like apricots, is cheap, and rhymes with St Dives.  Talk about micro-tears.  Needless to say I was looking for something more gentle and that could be used on a daily basis.  This fit the bill, and I already knew that I liked it once upon a time.  As luck would have it, I still like the Philosophy microdelivery exfoliating face wash post reformulation.  To be honest, the first time I used it I didn’t think it was doing anything because it is SO extremely gentle.  The exfoliating beads are teeny tiny. Afterwards though, I could see the difference.  Not only is my skin smoother, it is brighter and my complexion is more even.  I love this exfoliator, and even though I use a chemical exfoliant, I still feel like I need a physical one too.  I’m just not scrubbing my face off anymore, and the Microdelivery is definitely more suitable for my sensitive skin.

I also really like using this directly after I have rinsed off my charcoal mask.  I feel like it dredges up any of the debris that the mask loosened. And to complete my mini at-home facial, I then tone my skin with the Pixi Glow Tonic and then finally apply my beloved Biossance Vitamin C & Rose Oil.  My skin is loving this combination of products. Do you have a favorite blackhead blasting product, or something that helps clean and refine your pores?  If so, be sure to share below in the comments!

Leave a Reply

