Cosmetics

ColourPOP Pressed Powder Shadows

This will be a challenge for me, but I am going to try and keep the text to a minimum this week since this post is photo heavy.  Anyway,  I’m sure by now you are all familiar with ColorPOP, I mean that is why you are here, right?  So at the beginning of the year ColourPOP released their pressed powder eye shadow formula in twenty shades.  I already love their Super Shock cream eye shadows, so needless to say I was anxious to get my hands on the pressed powder formula.  Well, when they released the first installment of a their Spring monochromatic trifecta… it was like fate.  The first of the trilogy released was the Nectar collection.  If you know me, you know I am all about the warm tones, oranges, and peaches.  I NEED THEM ALL.  And I thought this would be THE collection for me.  As it turns out I only got two shadows from the Nectar collection (Sauvage & Cut-Outs).

The other colors, thanks to swatches on social media, were a tad too bright/neon for me.  The Nectar collection did however inspire me to create my own little warm toned compilation of ColourPop pressed shadows.  Fabulous.  Now, something else I should mention, is that at times I can be a complete moron (understatement).  I was so caught up in getting my order over $30 to receive free shipping – I totally lost sight of the fact that for only $5 more (an eyeshadow, lipstick, anything) – I could have received TWO complimentary palettes for my shadow singles.  So when you see seven shadows, and only one palette, that’s why.  Don’t make the same mistake I did, if you are going to get more than four pressed shadows, make sure you at least get eight.  As of right now, for every four pressed shadows you purchase, ColourPOP will throw in a complimentary quad palette (maximum two per order).

Okay, now that we got that out of the way I will give a brief synopsis of my thoughts on the shadows I selected.  First of all, for $5 the quality of the shadows is superb.  They take little to no effort to blend, and while they are pigmented, they can easily be diffused with blending.  The soft look is what I typically go for, so this is a MUST for me.  None of the shades I selected were patchy, and they were pretty consistent as far as application goes.   I purchased six matte shades and one duo-chrome.  ColourPop’s pressed shadow formula is just as good, if not better, than any of my Too Faced or Tarte eye shadows.  The one and only issue turned out to be no one else’s fault but my own.  I selected too many similar shades! So there isn’t any real distinction when they are applied to the lid verses the crease.  The next order I make will definitely need to include colors that will add some dimension to my looks.  In the meantime I can pull from other palettes, but if you have any ColourPop shade suggestions, please do share!

On with the pics and swatches!

DSC03208DSC03209DSC03224DSC03226DSC03227DSC03229DSC03243


ColourPop Pressed Shadow in Flower Boy

img_5713
ColourPOP Pressed Shadow in Sauvage.

ColourPop pressed shadow in Wait For It.

img_5708
ColourPop pressed shadow in I Owe You.

ColourPOP pressed shadow in The News.

ColourPop pressed shadow in Wake Up Call.

ColourPop pressed shadow in Cut-Outs.

 

Out of the seven I purchased, these three colors looked the most similar to me. Especially when applied to the lid.
All of my ColourPop pressed shadow selections swatched together.

Above, on my lid I am wearing I Owe You, with Cut-Outs and The News in my crease.  

Leave a Reply

