Cosmetics

NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer

 

Honesty, REALness, sincerity, candor, straightforwardness, and sometimes even bluntness.  These are all things I will ALWAYS include in my reviews and blog posts in general.  That being said, I’m sure you have already read between the lines and have guessed what kind of review this will be. As much as I don’t like bashing a product or brand, I feel that you deserve to hear all viewpoints when researching a product that you are contemplating purchasing.  For me personally, I read reviews for EVERYTHING regardless of how much the product cost.  Especially if it something I am going to put on my face.  And yes, if the reviews are generally good, it does influence my decision to make a purchase.   When I read the reviews on Sephora.com, watched reviews on YouTube, or even looked over some blog posts, they were all raving about the NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer.   Naturally, off to the store I went to grab myself one to try out.  I am weak. So very weak.

I already own the Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer and I like it enough. I don’t use it all of the time because it has pretty full coverage, and that’s not my style. I want my skin to look like MY skin.  I usually use it for instances where I have a pesky blemish that I want to conceal.  But because of its radiant, highlighting nature, it can draw attention to the imperfection you are trying to mask.  However, the color matches me pretty well, and that is a difficult task in itself.  So when I saw that NARS was coming out with a new concealer I was very interested as I was about to run out of the Radiant Creamy concealer anyway.  The fact that the Soft Matte Complete Concealer was matte and claimed to be light weight appealed to me even more.   I then proceeded to color test the concealer in store, even though the color range is the SAME for both concealers.  I went with Vanilla because that is what I have used with the Radiant Creamy concealer in the past.  It looked fine on my arm/wrist.

HOLD UP.  Hi my name is Timera, and I am Casper’s sister.  When I take my kids trick-or-treating dressed in everyday clothes, people still think I am wearing a ghost costume.  I make Edward Cullen look tan.  Powder, the movie, may have been inspired by me. If flash is used to take my picture, I may actually disappear from the photo.  Ok, I’m done.  Now I do have pink undertones to my fair skin, so that is why the shade Vanilla typically works for me. Not this time. No. No. No. No. No. Just No.  The shade Vanilla in the NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer was SO WRONG on me.  It was SO much darker than my skin.  And the worst part is that when I put the NARS Translucent Crystal Powder over it for setting, the color somehow became worse.  I tried to put blush over the area I applied the concealer on my cheeks.  Wow. It made my blush look blotchy and muddy.

The texture of the concealer wasn’t great either.  It did not blend well, and exaggerated any dry skin patches that I may have had. This is, of course, after exfoliating and moisturizing as I usually do.  Basically my worst nightmare of cake face became a reality for me on this unfortunate day.  And, needless to say, I disliked the concealer so much that I returned it that very same day.  I realize everyone’s skin is different, but please tell me if have you tried this concealer?  Was your experience similar to mine?  I typically LOVE NARS products, so I was surprised when this one was a dud for me.

DSC03189DSC03193DSC03150DSC03143DSC03164DSC03166DSC03174DSC03171

Leave a Reply

