Cosmetics

Algenist Splash Hydrating Setting Mist

Do you like flaky, puffed pastries?  Me too!  Just not when my face resembles one.  That’s not appealing in the least and for the past few months this is what I have been dealing with.  Dry, flaky skin, that when makeup is applied the issue is just exacerbated.  When I was on the hunt for a facial oil to help with my dehydrated face, I happened upon the Algenist Splash Hydrating Setting Mist.  And when I couldn’t settle on a facial oil, I thought this might help me out in the meantime.  The problem I was having is that I typically steer clear of anything that is advertised as dewy or luminous because I also have oily skin.  But the claims on Sephora.com and the description of the mist itself sounded just like what my skin needed at the moment.

The Algenist Splash Hydrating Setting Mist is hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic.  Two things that I look for in all of my skin care and cosmetics.  I am a Sensitive Sally and I would rather have dry alligator skin than a rash or zits all over my face.  This product also contains Alguronic Acid, one of the ingredients that the Algenist team of scientists discovered and patented.  You can find out more about how this ingredient was discovered and it’s skincare benefits here.

I have been using this product for almost two weeks now and I haven’t had any adverse reactions.  And I love the feeling this setting mist gives my skin too.  It actually feels hydrated, refreshed, and relieves that tight, dry feeling my skin can sometimes get.  As far as how the product performs, I think it does a fine job.  It makes my skin look luminous without looking like an oil slick.  Although I have gone overboard a few times with the amount that I have used and, I will say, there is such a thing as too much when it comes to this mist.  That might just be me though.  And if you are a person that wears setting powder, this spray will take away any of the powdery-ness left behind.  It will allow your skin to look like skin, as opposed to a pastry or an amphibian.  The mist itself is very fine and doesn’t leave giant water droplets on your face like you were just out in a rainstorm.  I honestly can’t even see it on the surface of my skin just after spraying.

My one and only complaint, if you could even call it that, is the packaging.  For $35, I would expect the bottle to look less like a $2.99 spray bottle that I can buy at Target in the travel section.  I can easily get over this shortcoming though with a product that does what it actually claims to do.

Have you tried this hydrating setting mist?  If so how do you like it? Also do any of you have any recommendations for a facial oil that is safe for sensitive, acne prone, combination skin types?

dsc03111dsc03071dsc03114dsc03086dsc03092dsc03121

Leave a Reply

