lifestyle

2016 Holiday Gift Guide – For Her


I am going to start off with a disclaimer, even though I find that disgusting.  This is simply labeled a Holiday Gift Guide for HER, because that is the only perspective I am able to provide to you as a woman.  I don’t pretend to know what others like or dislike, nor do I know your personal budget.  So please keep these pieces of information in mind as you scroll through my gift suggestions.  I cannot tell you why I felt the need to explain myself, only that I don’t wish to offend or make anyone feel bad if they are unable to obtain any of these items.

That being said, some of the products mentioned I may already own, and I will make notations stating as such.  And as ridiculous as it sounds, I have a personal wish list.  Tucked away for a rainy day, or for times like this when others may ask for gift ideas.  That way I am not scrambling to find something.  And, that is basically what I will be sharing with you today.  If you are here, you probably have similar tastes and interests anyway.  So my hope is to inspire you if you are having trouble finding a gift for a loved one, or you are stuck on what YOU may want for a gift.  Lets get started!


This is the category where I could have easily spiraled out of control, and quickly.  Handbags are my thing, and all of the handbags I lust after come with pretty hefty price tags.  I am talking Gucci, YSL, Chloé, LV, Channel, and Hermes price tags.  So I will spare you, and stick to something a little more affordable.

img_3209This is the Vera Bradley Marlo, in the color claret.  Isn’t she lovely?  I don’t own a handbag in this color, and I think it would be a wonderful complement to my mostly black wardrobe.

img_3210

Now if you follow me on Facebook you are well aware of my obsession with Kate Spade critters.  This bunny pouf would pair perfectly with the Vera Bradley Marlo shown above.  I’m not going to lie, I have been obsessing about this combination ever since the bunny made its debut.

img_3211-1Sticking with the bunny theme, this Kate Spade “Make Magic Rabbit in a Hat” Card Case would also look fabulous with the aforementioned purse and pouf.


So you could easily get someone a Yankee candle or a candle from Bath and Body Works, and that would be perfectly fine.  However if you would like to go above and beyond and get something a little more unique and extravagant…..these are the candles you should be purchasing!

candle

This first candle is a personal favorite and one that I currently own.  This is the Capri Blue Iridescent Jar Candle in the scent Volcano.  Have you ever entered Anthropologie and wondered what that magical smell was throughout the store?  Chances are it was this candle, and it is amazing.

candle

Another one of my favorites is the Votivo Red Currant candle. I have the holiday edition pictured and it is beautiful.

candle

The Diptyque Baies is a candle I would love to try. The scent “Baies” is described as a “bouquet of roses and blackcurrant leaves”.  It sounds positively heavenly, and would make a wonderful gift.


I like a lot of perfume scents, but they don’t always like me.  As with many other things, my skin is very sensitive to some fragrance.  Some of theses fragrances work for me, and of course they smell lovely too.

purfume

The L’occitane Citrus Verbana is my current favorite. I love fruity scents, and I love citrus scents even more.  This is a light and fresh citrus scent, and is my everyday eau de toilette.

perfume-2

The Fresh Hesperides, is an all time favorite of mine for the past 10 years give or take.  The top note is grapefruit, but there are also notes of lemon, mandarin, bergamot, rhubarb, musk, and peach.  Hesperides is delightful, and a must have in my opinion.

perume-3

The last perfume on my list I do not currently own.  It did, however, make it to my wish list because I received a sample of it in the last Sephora catalog that was sent out for the holidays.  The YSL Mon Paris contains red berry and pear notes in addition to musk and patchouli.


If you have been following my blog for a while, you know things can easily get out of hand in this category.  And what I mean by that is, I am a makeup “enthusiast” in every sense of the word.  A less PC version of enthusiast would be makeup junkie.  That is probably more accurate, because I consider myself addicted.  Since we are covering a lot in this post, as hard as it may be, I will keep this section to a minimum.

The first two products are perfect for anyone who is in love with the current peach trend in the beauty world.  These products are also super affordable and would make wonderful stocking stuffers.  The ColourPOP Just Peachy lip trio is $15, and the Peach Keen eyeshadow foursome is $18.

sunday-reilyThis gift set of Sunday Riley SquadGoals contains skin care for any person in your life that likes to take care of their skin.  This is a great way to try out some of Sunday Riley’s best sellers all in one box.  Since this one is a little bit pricey, a good time to pick this up would be during the Sephora Loyalty rewards between December 2-14.  Then you will receive anywhere from $15-$25 off of your purchase of $50 or more depending on your insider status.


Oh boy, I don’t think I can keep this one to a minimum.  And no surprise, this category is going to be a little heavy with Rifle Paper Co. products.  #sorrynotsorry

2017-calendarGrowing up, for Christmas my mother always got my sisters and I calendars for the upcoming year.  I think it is a fabulous idea, and everyone needs a calendar in my opinion.  Sure you could just use your phone or your computer, but digital calendars are not nearly as pleasing to the eye.  So for the person that suffers from wanderlust and enjoys a little whimsy, the Rifle Paper Co., 2017 Bon Voyage calendar, is a perfect gift.

plannerIn addition to a wall calendar, a planner for the upcoming year would be a stupendous gift! The one I am currently enjoying is the Kate Spade 2017 XL Black Strip Agenda.

address-bookSure you can be boring and store all of your contact information in your phone.  However, if you have someone is your life that is a lover of stationery, I can guarantee you they will adore this Rifle Paper Co. Raven Address Book.

file-foldersThese File Folders are everything.  Someday they will be mine (maniacal laugh).

harry-potter

My sister asked my parents for a similar Harry Potter complete book collection last year for Christmas, and I thought it was a great gift idea!  I certainly don’t think she has regretted that decision since.  We are a Harry Potter Family for sure.


img_3142A few of these items will be sure to please the person in your life whom enjoys home decor.  Or the someone, like myself, who has a mild infatuation with critters and decorating her home with them.  No shame.

squirrel-2Every baker needs a squirrel whisk.  Or if they are not very good at baking (much like myself), this whisk will look perfect sitting in a utensil holder.  Where one day he might get put to use scrambling eggs.

hedgehogThis same person that is no good at baking, definitely needs these hedgehog measuring cups.

ramA golden rams head is always a good idea. And a fabulous gift.

If you want to make certain that the person you love remembers where they live, these beautiful Rifle Paper Co. illustrations will do just that!  Seriously though, these are some of my favorites right now and I think they would look really nice on a wall together.


And last, but certainly not least, is jewelry and miscellaneous items.

bb-druzy-2These Midnight Druzy Drops from Bauble Bar are gorgeous, and affordable at $36.  They also come in black, gray, and light pink.

mb-asymetrical-necklaceI love the simplicity of this Maya Brenner, asymmetrical character necklace.  It is available in yellow gold, white gold, and rose gold

hrh-collectionThese HRH Collection vintage crystal tennis bracelets would make a perfect gift for a gal that has more of an edgy style. They come in a colorful and fun party crystal version, in addition to a dreamy version which is muted pastels.

swellThese Swell Metallic bottles are a swell gift for that person in your life that likes to stay hydrated.  So pretty much anyone.

scarf

This West Elm Faux Fur Infinity Scarf looks cozy enough to sleep in.

air-plantAnd finally, for the person in your life that loves plants, but kills them. I wouldn’t know from personal experience or anything though.  An air plant is wonderful alternative and requires little care.  This one from west elm comes in this pretty mahogany plant holder.

 


 

3 thoughts on “2016 Holiday Gift Guide – For Her

Leave a Reply

