Cosmetics

Sephora VIB 2016 Haul

Makeup AGAIN??  If you thought that to yourself for even a split second, oh dear, then you must be lost!  Yes, I was just at Sephora the weekend prior shopping with my mother.  And yes, I went to Sephora yet AGAIN this past weekend to shop the VIB sale.  What does that say about me? Who cares what it says about me.  What I am saying is I like makeup, I like it an awful lot.  I also like a decent savings, but who doesn’t?

My haul isn’t much, but there are a couple of items I am really excited about.  And when I am excited about something, I want to share it with you!  Don’t you feel special? No?  Well, that probably runs deeper than the contents of this blog….c’est la vie.

dsc01566


This first product I won’t go on and on about, even though I could.  Simply because I already have…..here.  I’m pretty sure the last time I purchased the Lancome Effacernes Waterproof Concealer was last year during the VIB sale.  It has lasted me that long, or nearly that long, and it is definitely an essential in my cosmetic bag.  Now, I don’t use it for my under eye area as the name suggests.  Crazy, I know.  I do however use it on the rest of my face to even out my skin and cover up any blemishes that I may have.  I love the soft matte finish and the light coverage.

dsc01571


Next up is a HG product, and I am fairly certain that I will not find another product to replace it.  At least in the brown color range, Hemingway ALL the way. Again, I have mentioned the Kat Von D Ink Liner in a previous post, so I won’t bore you with my thoughts.  I will say, for someone that wears liquid eyeliner pretty frequently, this is by far the best liquid eyeliner that I have EVER used.  I know Tom Ford makes a really good one too, but unfortunately it isn’t brown.   And for this brown eyed girl…..I don’t know where I was going with that.  Maybe I just wanted to get a certain song stuck in your head. 🎤 Who knows? 😈dsc01580


Dearest Sephora, I had such high hopes for this cream lip stain in the color blackberry sorbet.  Five stars for the color, it is gorgeous!  The formula was a bit wonky though.  Patchy.  And, maybe that is because it is a darker color?  I say that because I already own a cream lip stain, in the color marvelous mauve.  It is one of my favorite lip products, especially for a matte.  At first I thought it was me, and it partially was.  My lips needed to be exfoliated, and that is a MUST anytime you are wearing a liquid lipstick or anything matte on your lips for that matter.  (Matte, Matter?  Seriously?)  Even after exfoliating, it still applied funky. Anyway, I will still wear it because I really do LOVE the color. I also really like it under the Bite Beauty Gold Crème Lip Gloss, shown here.

dsc01600


My mom has a serious problem with bullets. She collects them, and is obsessed with them.  She keeps trying to get me on the bandwagon, but I keep telling her, “Mom, I don’t even own a gun!”  Where is the drum emoji when you need it?  Seriously though, my mother has told me multiple times how much she loves the Urban Decay Vice Lipstick bullets.  She also casually handed me a cosmetic pouch from her purse during lunch one day, and instructed me to look inside.  I did as any obedient daughter would and peaked inside.  I wasn’t prepared for the ridiculousness I witnessed that day.  When I tell you the bag was filled, no stuffed, with UD Vice Lipsticks….I am not exaggerating.  There must have been at least 10 to 15 Vice lipsticks in that bag.  So after that experience, I put them on my list of things to try.  When I saw the limited edition color Troublemaker, I knew it was meant to be.  This color is described as a deep oxblood, and on me it has a purple tint.  I like the formula, but because of the dark color I will need to either purchase a lipliner to go under or a lip primer.  Something to keep in mind if you are thinking about purchasing this beauty.  Also beware, this product does not stay put whilst eating and you will resemble Miranda Sings or perhaps a clown after food consumption.  That didn’t happen to me or anything though. 😳

dsc01644


Last, but certainly not least, is the Kat Von D, Studded Kiss Lipstick in the color Lolita.  I definitely saved the best for last.  As I am sure you are well aware, Lolita is a cult favorite in the Kat Von D liquid lipstick formula.  I, however, am not a big fan of the dryness that comes with liquid lipsticks, and I have read that the Kat Von D formula is just that.  I have wanted to try the color for a long time – it just looks so flattering on all skin tones.  So I thought now was the perfect time to pick up the Studded Kiss Lipstick version of Lolita, during the VIB sale.  Upon the very first application I fell in love.  Not just with the color, but with the formula as well. This is a very comfortable matte and is super easy to apply.  The lasting power is pretty impressive too. And now, naturally, I also need the holiday gunmetal limited edition Lolita II.  Send help. 😆

dsc01672

dsc01686
Can we take a moment to appreciate this packaging though? 

 

 

*The graphics used in the cover photo are from snapchat and were NOT created by me.
One thought on “Sephora VIB 2016 Haul

Leave a Reply

