lifestyle

35 REAL Things About MateREAL Girl


So I thought it was about time that you get to know me a little better.   I mean, I have been sharing bits and pieces about myself within my blog posts, but I’ve just barely skimmed the surface.  Irony intended, as I am fully aware that my blog is of little depth.  And that is completely deliberate on my part.  This blog is meant to be light, fun, and indulgent to everyone’s materialistic tendencies.  Look, if you are still in denial and have yet to admit to yourself that you are indeed materialistic…..Your secret is safe with me.

Is that all that I am about?  Of course not.  All humans are multifaceted, some more than others.  I’d like to consider myself a brilliant cut diamond, with unlimited facets and exceptional brilliance.  You see what I did there?  In all seriousness, I have read some “about me” blog posts and to me they are a little habitual.  I am from___,my favorite color is___, my favorite food is ___.  And, that’s great, but I don’t want to tell you things that I think you want to read.  I want to tell you REAL things.  Things that I probably shouldn’t put on the internet where they will live forever.  Things that only those closest to me know, and then again maybe not.

 


  • I am sensitive. But, I hate being labeled sensitive or being told “I’m being sensitive”. Probably because I AM sensitive. To me, admitting sensitivity feels like admitting weakness.
  • I have the inability to truly fake emotions. There are certain situations that you just have to suck it up, but the expressions on my face usually give me away. I smile, a lot, to cover that up.
  • Relationships. If I cannot make a connection with you, even on a small level….I shut down and go inside my head where I am understood.  I am only interested in something meaningful.
  • I am often misunderstood, but those that get me will be my friends for life.
  • At the same time, I do in fact enjoy socializing. I require human interaction.
  • I have an irrational fear of microorganisms.  It impacts my daily life.
  •  I have obsessive compulsive tendencies, and I don’t think it’s a laughing matter.  I find it incredibly insulting and annoying when others label themselves with OCD, because they associate it with positive attributes such as organization and cleanliness.
  • I only speak fluent sarcasm. If you can’t handle that, then you definitely can’t handle me.
  • I’m quirky, and EXTREMELY particular. I know what I like, and I most certainly know what I don’t. And I’m not afraid to voice either.
  • I don’t like hearing the word no. The saying, “no is just the word yes in disguise” is something I truly believe. For that reason, I am annoyingly persistent.
  • I’m not afraid to offend, in fact, sometimes I enjoy creating awkward situations just to see how someone will react.
  • I over analyze EVERYTHING. This makes me feel perpetually tired.
  • I have watched two people that I love take their last breath. It has shaken me more than I will ever let on.
  • I think I am right 98.5% of the time, because I am. And, for the other 1.5% of the time, I am the first one to admit I am wrong.
  • I won’t ever apologize for who I am or how I am, because I’m not ashamed. When I do apologize for something  you will know it is sincere, because it doesn’t happen often.
  • I am deliberate, and most things I do are not by chance or accidental.
  • I am incredibly impatient.
  • I like things clean and neat, and not because I care about what others think. As with most things, it is for for myself. Because I NEED things to be that way and I cannot function otherwise.
  • I am selfish, and I always have been.
  • I am also generous, and love to make others happy. Especially when they are feeling particularly down. Maybe that’s selfish too though, because it makes ME feel good.
  • I want everything to be perfect. And I am not just saying that because I want to give you the impression that I am a perfectionist. It’s mostly because there are a lot of things in life that I cannot control, and when I feel out of control I become controlling. Therefore, I am constantly setting unrealistic expectations.
  • I have high expectations, and am often let down because of them.
  • I am entitled and spoiled. I blame my upbringing, but I am not ashamed of this fact.
  • My poor husband – I have been married to the Saint for nine years in November. He is the only one that accepts me and all of my crazy. And I will love him forever for that reason.
  • I have two beautiful and wild children. My greatest accomplishments.
  • I am passionate about social injustices and have a low tolerance for ignorance.
  • I will be the first one to call you out on your ish, and will become extremely defensive if you were to do the same to me. I might even disown you.
  • I don’t have resting bitch face, I just have bitch face.
  • I am a stay at home mom, and I didn’t want to be. Meaning, it wasn’t what I planned on for my life. I enjoyed my previous job, and it was extremely difficult for me to leave. I’d like to believe that I was good at it….and I loved that feeling. But I love my children more.
  • I might live down south now, but I will always be a northerner.  I’ve lived most of my life in NJ, and I despise the stereotypes associated with my home state. What I despise even more is the fact that those stereotypes are accurate.  And I am embarrassed for those that fall into those categories.
  • I believe etiquette and manners are extremely important and I wish others felt the same. I am still polite even when I am angry and upset.
  • I find it ridiculous that Southerners feel as though they invented hospitality. However, I will admit that Southerners are generally friendlier, but rude people exist everywhere.
  • I am a Christian, and I know Jesus is my savior. I was raised Roman Catholic , and I find extreme comfort in the faith. Yet, I have mixed feelings on organized religion in general.
  • I suffer from wanderlust and would love to travel the world and experience different cultures.
  • I am the funniest person I know, and I laugh at all of my own jokes/shenanigans.
Leave a Reply

