lifestyle

Warby Parker Home Try On

 

Calling all agoraphobics!  If you are looking for a new pair of spectacles, yet you find yourself housebound, then this is the service for you!  Germaphobes on the other hand……lets just say, I had to get the UV light and my personal bubble out for this one.

Seriously though, I need new glasses. It’s been a little over two years since I got the pair I currently own.  They are designer pieces of crap.  I honestly think they were made from fecal matter. Anyway, I’m over their existence and I’m ready for a change.  However, when you are a full time spectacle wearer, finding a new pair to replace what has become a piece of you can be a difficult task.  Especially when you are the most indecisive and picky human on the planet.  Now, I COULD just get contacts right? WRONG.  I would rather jab myself in the head with an ice pick.  For me, wearing contacts is like dying a slow painful death.  Basically, I want to remove my eyeballs from my head whilst wearing them.  At the end of the day, that battle is just not worth my life.

Now, I have known about Warby Parker for around the same time that I have owned my current POS glasses.  Yet, my germaphobic tendencies have kept me from trying out their awesome at home try on service.  I’m not into other people’s germ generosity, keep that ish to yourself.  But, just like many of you I’m sure, I kept seeing them all over social media.  I liked what I saw, enough to overcome my germ issue, and order myself some glasses to try on.  If you are not familiar, Warby Parker will send you up to 5 frames of your choice to try on at home.  It is completely free, even shipping.  They do reserve a $1 charge to your credit card, just in case you decide not to return over $500 worth of glasses.

Most of the glasses are made from acetate or titanium (or a combination), just like your designer glasses, yet they start at only $95.  That is including your prescription lens, which are polycarbonate and come standard with an anti-scratch and anti-reflective coating.  That’s a really good deal, considering those features typically cost more at other places.  Now if you have progressive lenses, it will cost about $200 more.  In my opinion, it is still a pretty good deal.  So the price, in addition to the many options and styles they offer, more than peaked my interest.  And there really wasn’t any risk involved, if I didn’t like them, I was under no obligation to buy anything.

DSC00363

DSC00366

DSC00369

So when I got my package, of course I tried every pair on right away.   I then proceeded to post pics and vids to social media (pics below), to get the opinion of my friends and family, naturally!  Side note, if you use the hashtag #warbyparkerhometryon on Instagram, WP will let you know which frames they think suit you the best too.  When I was done, I just put the provided return shipping label on the box, and sent them on their way.  It couldn’t have been easier.  In fact, I did it a second time just because, why not?

Overall, even though the glasses you receive for the try on service are loner glasses, I was still impressed with the quality.  They didn’t feel cheap.  And they have nice details like a key hole nose bridge, and a plethora of color options.  I will most likely be purchasing some spectacles from Warby Parker, in the very near future.  I will be sure to keep you updated, and let you know how the actual ordering process goes with my prescription.  If you have Warby Parker glasses, be sure to share your experience in the comments.  Also, I’d love to hear your opinion about what frames you think work best on my face!

DSC00371

 

image1

  1. Ames in Whiskey Tortoise
  2. Durand in Saddle Russet
  3. Bensen in Whiskey Tortoise
  4. Eaton in Tree Swallow Fade
  5. Kensett (my fav) in Whiskey Tortoise

 

image2

  1. Jennings in Striped Beach
  2. Collis in Lavender Crystal
  3. Finch in Bellini
  4. Nash in Crystal
  5. Kensett (again) in Whiskey Tortoise
One thought on “Warby Parker Home Try On

Leave a Reply

