Cosmetics

ColourPOP Haul


I needed a new eyebrow pencil.  I needed a new eyebrow pencil that wasn’t $21!   I was going through Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz pencils WAY too quickly.  So, for only $5, I thought I would give ColourPOP’s version a try.  This would be my very first ColourPOP purchase, and the first time I had tried any of their products.  Conveniently, it just so happened if you spent $30, you received free shipping. They also, so kindly, offered to give me $5 off, for subscribing with my email.  ColourPOP couldn’t have made this decision any easier.  Since I had my eye on the Super Shock shadow in the color Sequin, I added it to my cart.  And then of course,  I had to try out some of their lip products.  So here we are.

Like most, I heard about the brand via social media.  Mostly YouTubers talked this brand up, and said how great the quality was, and how affordable the products were.  ColourPOP is a Los Angeles based company, and they are an online only retailer.  That unfortunately means you can’t see the items in person before purchasing.  You basically have to go by pictures and word of mouth.  That being said, it’s not that much of a risk, because their products are really affordable.  Individual items range between $5 and $8 a POP.

Still, no one enjoys buyer’s remorse.  So, I thought I would share my honest thoughts on the ColourPOP items I purchased.   I hope this helps some of you that may be teetering with the idea of making your very first ColourPOP order.

DSC01895

DSC01919
ColourPOP Super Shock Shadow in Sequin.

First up is the Super Shock Shadow, in the color Sequin.  I am a sucker for rose gold/copper toned shadows.  This one is absolutely beautiful!  I even went outside to take the swatch picture, just so you could get an idea of just how incredible this color is!  The texture is surprisingly creamy, and it almost feels wet, like a cream shadow.  Upon my initial application I was SUPER impressed and continued to be impressed as the day went on.  My eye shadow looked as though I just applied it by the end of the day.

DSC01980DSC01985

DSC01936
Top left Ultra Matte Lip in Trap, right Ultra Matte Lip in Midi, and bottom Ultra Satin Lip in Echo Park

Pictured above from left to right, I am wearing the ColourPOP Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick, in Midi and Trap.  On the far right, I am wearing ColourPOP Ultra Satin Lip in Echo Park.

I wanted to try out a some of the Ultra Mattes everyone talks about, and I knew I definitely wanted a nude color.  Midi is just that, and on me, it might just be too nude.  Whomp, whomp. We shall see, it might grow on me.  Trap, on the other hand, is a darker shade described as greige, so a grey-ish beige color. The formula on the Ultra Mattes is dry, but it is longer lasting, so the dryness is to be expected.  The color pigmentation broke up on me in the center of my lips when wearing Midi.  When I wore a lip liner with Midi, this did not happen.  Trap, on the other hand, is super pigmented and never showed bare lip spots.

I also got one of their newer Ultra Satin Lips, and I chose the color Echo Park.  It is a pretty, peachy nude, and it is definitely a nude that I feel suits my pale skin tone.  The formula is much more comfortable in comparison to the Ultra Matte.  It is also fairly long lasting. I definitely would like to try other colors from this formula.

 *There is a facinating Buzzfeed article here , regarding ColourPOP’s Liquid Lipsticks and Kylie Jenner’s Lip Kits.  

DSC01948
Lippie Stix, Matte X finish, in the color Bootie.  

Bootie is a new Lippie Stix color, and is the perfect red-ish orange shade.  If bold isn’t really your thing, then you are going to want to steer clear of this one.  The finish is matte, yet it is a comfortable matte.

DSC01955

DSC01972
ColourPOP Brow Pencil, in Bangin’ Brunette.  
Finally, onto the number one reason for my ColourPOP purchase, the eyebrow pencil.  It was hard for me to choose a color without seeing it in person.  Thanks to countless blogs and reviews, I was able to narrow my decision down to the color “Bangin’ Brunette.” For comparison, I use the ABH Brow Wiz in the shade “Dark Brown.”

The formula is very creamy, almost too creamy at times.  While the creamy texture allows the product to go onto your skin easily, when you go to blend, it can become a little messy.  The spoolie picks up a lot of the product, and kind of smears it.  It’s not terrible, but unfortunately, ColourPOP’s brow pencil will not replace the ABH Brow Wiz for me.  I purchased two of them, so I will make them work.  I have been setting my brows with brow powder, and that seems to help.

Overall, I am impressed with the quality of ColourPOP’s products.  Especially since they are more affordable. Most times, these two qualities are not synonymous.  Kudos to ColourPOP on the success of doing just that.

2 thoughts on “ColourPOP Haul

Leave a Reply

