lifestyle

The Fitbit Alta

Frog Big

You may or may not have already noticed that I am not mateREALgirl – I’m her sister. I’m popping on over to the blog today for a little weekend guest post on my Fitbit Alta. No worries, your regularly scheduled programming will be back midweek as usual.

So, without further ado, let me start with a little disclaimer. I am an extremely uncoordinated human being. I trip over my own feet daily. I have a scar on my right shin from where I ran into the dishwasher door that I had quite literally opened a minute prior. I failed to step up onto a curb and face planted with an arm full of groceries more recently than I would like to admit. No one would ever use the words “fitness guru” to describe me. I don’t say all of this in a quirky “I’m-so-cute-and-awkward” way (I’m looking at you, Zooey Deschanel). Some woman can pull that off, but I am not one of them.

I say this because I am completely athletically average – some would argue below average – and I am okay with that. But, that’s how you KNOW that the Fitbit Alta isn’t just for those fitness gods and goddesses out there.

Within the last year, I have made a conscious effort to live a healthier lifestyle in an effort to avoid some genetic health problems that I have a predisposition too. I bought my Fitbit Alta at the beginning of March, and let me just to tell you, it has made this whole fitness thing infinitely easier.

Plants Pool 2 BIG

See that pool down there? That also factored into my decision to become more physically fit.

The Alta is a pedometer. No big deal, right? Anyone can pick up a pedometer for a lot less than $130. Except, the Alta allows you to set goals for your daily step count, keeps track of your steps each day in a handy little chart available on the super user friendly app, tells you how many miles those steps equate too, and calculates how many calories you’ve burned. There is nothing nearly as motivating after a long day then looking down at your Alta, vibrating, with confetti on the screen, because you hit today’s step goal.

Your dashboard keeps up with all of your daily stats in one easy place.

It also allows you to keep track of your calorie intake. This is especially great for me because I tend to snack throughout the day as opposed to eating meals, and this holds me accountable for what I’m eating. It also adjusts how many calories you should eat for the day based on your level of activity – so an extra hour at the gym has the potential to earn you a little treat every now and again.

As you’ve probably guessed by this point, there are MANY things I could have been doing to lead a healthier lifestyle. One of those things is drinking more water. My body had pretty much gotten used to being in a constant state of dehydration – my cups of coffee greatly outweighed my cups of water throughout the day. But, the Fitbit app allows you to set daily goals of how much water you would like to drink, and adjusts as you log it throughout the day. Needless to say, I’ve come to enjoy water a lot more since I’ve owned my Alta.

Bird 1 BIG

One of the coolest things about the Alta is the sleep tracker. Ever wonder how many times you woke up last night? Or how many minutes you actually spent tossing and turning? Well, fear not, because the Alta’s got you covered and all of your sleep data is there for you in the morning in an easy-to-read chart.

You could say I sleep a lot. 

The Alta has caller ID, allows you to view text messages (although you cannot respond to them), and syncs via Bluetooth to your cell phone. As for this last one, I have not noticed a HUGE battery drain on my iPhone 6s as of yet, but there is definitely a difference in my phone’s battery life when its connected to my Alta compared to when it’s not. However, my favorite little “extra” is the silent alarm. If you so choose, you can sync your alarms to your Alta. When the time comes, your Alta will vibrate on your arm to wake you up. This is an infinitely nicer way to wake up in the morning, compared to Apple’s usual “the-world-is-ending” type alarm. It also does not wake my cat up, which if you knew my cat, you would understand why this is such a blessing. She needs her beauty sleep. The silent alarm also works for reminders set in your phone’s calendar.

The only serious drawback I have with the Alta is that it comes in far less colors then the Flex, and there are no cute accessories out for it yet. This may not be an issue for some, but I have found myself leaving my Alta at home because the turquoise rubber wrist strap seems to clash just a tad with my date night outfit. Luckily, the Alta is pretty sleek and I find it relatively easy to cover up.

Now you see it… Now you don’t….

This is only a fraction of the Alta’s capabilities – these are what have made the biggest difference in my life. But, Fitbit makes quite a few models to fit each individual’s lifestyle. For instance, the Alta doesn’t calculate your heart-rate the way the Charge HR does. Check out this article comparing and contrasting all of them.

I love my Alta because it holds me accountable for my lifestyle decisions. It allows me to set goals, and provides a clear path for me to follow to get to them. It helped me to see patterns in my normal regimen – I never paid attention to the fact that the Moe’s burrito I treat myself too had almost all of my daily calories in one meal. At the end of the day, if you’re serious about leading a healthier way of life, that is what it comes down too.

I would love to hear about your experiences with your Fitbits (Alta or not), or any tips you have. Post in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “The Fitbit Alta

Leave a Reply

