lifestyle

My Favorites from Trader Joe’s

image1I used to go to the boring old supermarket, and I hated every minute of it.  I viewed grocery shopping more as a chore.  I wanted to be in and out, getting only the essentials, as to not take up any more time in the awful grocery store than necessary.  Children have been added to the already dreaded chore, so it had become even less enjoyable.

Over the years, I have developed a fondness for Trader Joe’s, and surprisingly have grown to enjoy grocery shopping just a little bit.  My family and I would only go to Trader Joe’s maybe once a month, if that.  I was finding it to be the only time I didn’t completely despise food shopping.  As time passed and we moved from NJ to GA, and even closer to a TJ’s, it became the place we frequented most for our weekly groceries.  That was no coincidence, in fact it was part of the criteria used for choosing a city to reside.  So as you can imagine we have some favorites. While I am not including them all in this post (there are just SO many), I am including a pretty good variety.

IMG_7839

DSC01103

An item that is newer to me, but not new AT ALL (read: ancient) is Matcha Green Tea Latte.  TJ’s has milled Matcha leaves into a fine powder, with milk and cane sugar added into the mix, making it a green tea latte.  It is actually a great source of nutrients and antioxidants.

IMG_7837

Sticking with the tea category, the seasonal tea blends that TJ’s creates are wonderful.  I especially enjoy the Candy Cane Green Tea, as it is extremely refreshing.

IMG_7838

Next on the beverage list is the Sipping Chocolate.  It is more like a liquid dessert treat, rather than a tea that you can enjoy frequently.  You totally can, but it’s a little too decadent for my taste. The sipping chocolate contains shavings of chocolate, giving it a rich authentic chocolate flavor unlike it’s relative, hot chocolate.

IMG_7840

Chocolate is an item that is most definitely not unique to Trader Joe’s.  What is unique about this dark chocolate is that it’s only $1.79 for three of these chocolate bars.

DSC01100

These chocolate lava cakes are in the frozen section of TJ’s and they are phenomenal.  Ooey, gooey, chocolaty, microwavable goodness.

IMG_7824

If you like bread pudding, the Trader Joe’s Salted Caramel Bread Pudding is must try item.  The flavor is good, and the texture is just right.  This one does take a little longer to bake, as it requires 50-60 minutes from frozen.

IMG_7826

What’s not to like about mini cinnamon sugar churros?  They are crispy, sweet, and bite sized.  I think TJ’s did a pretty good job with these, and they only take about 7 minutes to bake.  They do come with a separate packet of cinnamon sugar, so you can add as much, or as little as you like.

IMG_7823

The Fruit Frenzy Bars are a fantastic blend of tart and sweet.  I have been getting these frozen treats from the beginning of my TJ’s journey, and I will continue to purchase them.

IMG_7822

The Tarte D’Alace from Trader Joe’s can be a perfect meal or appetizer.  The tarte itself is buttery and flakey.   With the saltiness of the ham, gruyere cheese, and the sweetness of the caramelized onions; this is definitely one of my favorites.

IMG_7828

Another easy meal item found in the frozen section is the Penne Arrabbiata.  For a frozen Italian pasta dish, this one is pretty good.  I am picky about the quality and flavor of Italian dishes, growing up with only the best Italian foods homemade or otherwise. This isn’t the best pasta I’ve ever had, but it is the best frozen option that I have tasted.  Arrabbiata sauce is traditionally on the spicy side, so keep that in mind.

IMG_7827

Typically I’m not a fan of beef burgers, or ground beef in general.  So my go-to burger is almost always of the turkey persuasion.  I am also not a fan of touching raw meat, so forming a raw meat patty is out of the question!  That makes these frozen turkey burgers even more appealing since they are simple and require minimal handling.  Even more importantly, they are quite tasty.

DSC01131

I love hummus, but I love Trader Joe’s Kalamata Olive hummus the best.  I personally like to pair it with these light Pita Bite crackers.

IMG_7830

My three year old LOVES this popcorn, so I figured it was worth mentioning.  I think it is pretty tasty myself.  It definitely has an artificial bacon taste, but it isn’t offensive.

IMG_7835

The Trader Joe’s jarred Bruschetta is really good, better if it is refrigerated prior to serving.  I add it to pasta sometimes and it adds great flavor.  The tube tomato paste is just convenient when you don’t need an entire can of tomato paste.

IMG_7836

The Trader Joe’s Organic Creamy Tomato Soup is by far my favorite store bought tomato soup.  It’s not too heavy, nor is it too acidic.  It is even better with the addition of the Garlic Salt grinder.

IMG_7833

The Sesame Soy Ginger Vinaigrette is my absolute favorite dressing from TJ’s.  Enough said.

IMG_7831

If you don’t like beets, just beat it.  Pun intended.  Seriously though, these pickled beets are sooooo good!

IMG_7842

This cheese blend is life.  It’s delicious on salads, on pasta, wonderful in sauces, in your creamy tomato soup, and at my house we even eat it on its own.

IMG_7829

Speaking of cheese, if you like your cheddar extremely sharp, this is a must have.  We love it on crackers, paired with fruit, or even on a grilled cheese sandwich.

I would LOVE to hear what you are enjoying from Trader Joe’s at the moment, or even some of your all time favorites!  Please feel free to make some suggestions below, and I will be sure to check them out!

 

One thought on “My Favorites from Trader Joe’s

Leave a Reply

