Cosmetics

By Terry Ombre Blackstar

DSC00962

Eyeshadow for idiots? Yes please!  When I tell you that the By Terry Ombre Backstar Cream Eyeshadow is the easiest makeup to apply, I am not exaggerating.  It’s basically fool proof. You glide the stick onto your eyelid, and blend the edges with the tools God gave you (your fingertips).  That’s it!  Pop on some mascara if you are in a rush, or if you have more time pair it with your favorite eyeliner.  Once the eyeshadow sets, you are good for the day. It won’t budge. That also means that you need to be quick with the blending upon initial application.

I wanted to get my hands on the Ombre Backstar cream eyeshadow sticks for a while now.  However it was like the magic unicorn of the internet, so beautiful and majestic, yet always out of my reach.  Then I finally found it while out with my squad (my mother and sisters).  There it was, at the Cosmetic Market, and I could finally swatch the eyeshadow I longed to see in person.  My mother and sister gathered around, and as the eyeshadow touched my skin I’m pretty sure the Amis chant from the Enigma song “Return to Innocence” started playing simultaneously.  Not really, that part was just in my head.  However what really did happen is all three of us got an Ombre Blackstar eyeshadow stick, and all three of us equally LOVED the formula.

I got the color Misty Rock, and I have nothing like it in my makeup collection.  It is completely unique and is such a beautiful purple color with tiny flecks of silver sparkle.  I know sparkly eyelids scare some people, and with good reason.  Glittery eyeballs can be terrifying!  This eyeshadow gives more of a glow/glossy finish, rather than full on glitter.  It is extremely flattering for all ages, from someone who is more youthful, to someone who has mature skin.  The formula is smoothing, so you won’t get that crepey look.

DSC00983
The By Terry Ombre Blackstar shown in the color Misty Rock, without flash.
DSC00987
The By Terry Ombre Backstar shown in the color Misty Rock, with flash.
DSC01012
Here is a Misty Rock swatch that isn’t blended, then to the right a blended swatch.

If you haven’t heard of the By Terry brand before, you are not alone.  I hadn’t heard of this brand until about a year ago when I was watching one of my favorite YouTubers from the UK, Lily Pebbles.  She would wear this eyeshadow all the time and most times it was the only thing she had on her eyes. It looked just beautiful and had such a glow.   I thought if it came across this pretty on video, just how magnificent would it look in person?

Well, I knew it would be fabulous, but what I didn’t know was how By Terry originated.  The lovely sales associate from the Cosmetic Market informed me that Terry de Gunzberg was formally the creative director of the Yves Saint Laurent beauty line.  During her YSL career she went on to create her own cosmetic line in 1998. Terry actually invented and formulated the beloved YSL TOUCHE ÉCLAT radiant touch.  So as you can imagine her eyeshadow stick is nothing short of amazing!

If you have this cream eyeshadow stick, please let me know what color(s) you recommend I try next!

IMG_7693

IMG_7664

IMG_7670

3 thoughts on “By Terry Ombre Blackstar

Leave a Reply

